Review: Fergie Frederiksen – Happiness Is The Road

Michigan-born singer Fergie Frederiksen is on my top-3-list of singers of all time, which he always has been since the first time I listened to Toto’s masterpiece, Isolation. He’s also the singer on Le Roux brilliant So Fired Up, Trillion’s first record and Mecca’s superbly crafted record 9 years ago. He has also done 3 excellent solo-records, the first with Ricky Phillips in 1995, the second in 1999 and the third with Tommy Denander in 2007. And that’s just to name a few…
The last couple of years Fergie has been out of the spotlight, mainly because of cancer and other illness. But now he’s back again with another superb record.

The record contains 12 songs, most of them are of the highest class, but a couple of them are clearly saved by the voice of Fergie.
The first 3 songs (Angel, Elaine and First To Cry) are brilliant, the last of them is written by Mark Baker and is actually featured on House Of Lords latest record released a month ago! Follow Your Heart and the title track are also good, but not the standard of the first 3. I Still Believe In Love is an old David Roberts-song and Fergie does it masterfully, the most “Totoish” song on the record maybe.
Skipping 2 songs (Lyin’ Eyes and the soft Love Wait’s For No One) which are the ones who problary had went by without notice if it wasn’t for the singer, Fergie raise them above average. Writing On The Wall and The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be are great too.
Finishing the record are 2 crackers, The One are problary the best song here, and The Saviour. The 2 songs are featuring keyboarder Eric Ragno.

It’s always a pleasure to hear and review a record with Fergie Frederiksen. His 4th solorecord (if you don’t count the ones under the name David London) are right up there with the other ones. I’ve said it before an I say it again, the year 2011 have been fantastic for AOR-lovers, and it’s not over yet.

Label: Frontiers Records (FR CD 531)
Producer: Dennis Ward
Release date: October 14th 2011
Line-up: Fergie Frederiksen (vocals), Dennis Ward (guitars, keyboards, bass, b-vocals), Dirk Bruinenberg (drums), Nathan Eshman (guitars), Eric Ragno (keyboards)

Rating: 8,5/10

10: A Master Piece / a future classic, 9: Superb, near perfect, 8: Great, 7: Very good, 6: Good,
5: Average, 4: Below par, 3: Poor, 2: Very poor, 1: Miserable